We're pleased to announce this year's winners.

2016 Winners
Flash Forward: Emerging photographers

Bright Spark

  • Daniella Zalcman

Runner Up

  • Jordi Ruiz Cirera

Grant Winner

  • Jake Naughton



  • Aaron Vincent Elkaim
  • Alana Paterson
  • Alexis Aubin
  • Allen Agostino
  • Amber Bracken
  • Anna Snyder
  • Arden Wray
  • Benjamin Freedman
  • Brett Gundlock
  • Charles-Frederick Ouellet
  • Chloë Ellingson
  • Chris MacArthur
  • Darren Calabrese
  • Eliot Wright
  • Ian Willms
  • Kiana Hayeri
  • Kyler Zeleny
  • Laurence Butet-Roch
  • Lodoe Laura
  • Luis Mora
  • Mara Gajic
  • Melissa Renwick
  • Michelle Siu
  • Nam Dang
  • Nicolas Gouin
  • Peter Andrew Lusztyk
  • Rachelle Bussières
  • Ryan Van Der Hout
  • Ryan Walker
  • Saman Deilamani

United Kingdom


  • Alan Knox
  • Alastair Bartlett
  • Alexander McBride Wilson
  • Alice Zoo
  • Calum Douglas
  • Carlos Alba
  • Caroline Douglas
  • Clare Bennett
  • Clare Hewitt
  • Daniel Alexander
  • Daniel Mayrit
  • David Severn
  • Giovanna Petrocchi
  • Gregor Schmatz
  • Jack Latham
  • Jack Taylor
  • Jacob Burge
  • Jan McCullough
  • Janire Najera
  • Joanne Coates
  • John Gribben
  • Jordi Ruiz Cirera
  • Lena Emery
  • Mark Duffy
  • Nick Paton
  • Nikolas Ventourakis
  • Piotr Karpinski
  • Sarah Fishlock
  • Thom & Beth Atkinson
  • Yuxin Jiang

United States


  • Aaron Canipe
  • Aaron Hardin
  • Alex Potter
  • Andrew Cullen
  • Caleb Cole
  • Clarissa Bonet
  • Danny Ghitis
  • Drew Nikonowicz
  • Gabriela Herman
  • Gabriella Demczuk
  • Gianni Cipriano
  • Jessica Richmond
  • Ke Peng
  • Laura Morton
  • Lee Hoagland
  • Lily Brooks
  • Lisa Elmaleh
  • Marcus DeSieno
  • Margeaux Walter
  • Melissa Spitz
  • Natalie Keyssar
  • Patricia Voulgaris
  • Rachel Bujalski
  • Rory Mulligan
  • Samantha Geballe
  • Scott Brauer
  • Stephen Milner
  • Talia Herman
  • William LeGoullon
  • Zachary McCauley

The Magenta Foundation gratefully acknowledges the support of TD Bank Group for their ongoing commitment to Flash Forward and to emerging artists.

TD Bank Group



  • Sara Knelman, Writer, curator and assistant professor, School of Image Arts, Ryerson University
  • Tony Fouhse, Photographer
  • Rachel Wine, Associate Photo Editor/Producer, enRoute Magazine
  • Rafael Katigbak, Senior Editor/Producer, VICE

United States

  • Zara Katz, Photo editor and visual producer
  • Julien Jourdes, Co-founder & COO
  • Sam Barzillay, Creative Director, United Photo Industries; Co-Founder, Photoville
  • Greer Muldowney, Independent curator and artist
  • Lucas Cowan, Public Art Curator, Rose F. Kennedy Greenway
  • Genevieve Fussell, Senior Photo Editor, The New Yorker
  • Sarah Sudhoff, Executive Director, Houston Center for Photography
  • Michelle Bogre, Associate Professor of Photography, School of Art, Media and Technology, Parsons School of Design
  • Stephen Frailey, Editor in Chief, Dear Dave Magazine

UK & International Jurors

  • Gemma Padley, Freelance photography journalist, and projects editor, British Journal of Photography
  • Renee Melides, Deputy Photo Editor, Monocle

Flash Forward Flash Back
See featured past and present winner work and other exclusive content on our new online showcase.

Go to →

About Flash Forward

Established in 2004, Flash Forward, in all its award-winning formats, has been a life-changing career boost for young photographers since its inception 14 years ago. This program for supporting and encouraging emerging artists in Canada and worldwide began with an idea to invest in artists barely out of university. Not only did we turn a small idea into a prominent worldwide competition, we paved the way for a high school program to influence arts curriculums, change and encourage leadership in teachers and keep essential funds in high schools.